« Back to Connect & Share

A Year of Political Firsts

Tammy Duckworth at Democratic National Convention

The election cycle for 2012 may have seemed like it went on forever, but it did bear some pretty amazing fruit.  On January 21, 2013, a record 20 female United States Senators will be sworn in, along with another record 77 female United States Congresswomen.  Incoming freshmen Senators will be Deb Fischer (Nebraska), Tammy Baldwin (Wisconsin), Heidi Heitkamp (North Dakota), Mazie Hirono (Hawaii) and Elizabeth Warren (Massachusetts).  Warren, Baldwin and Hirono are the first female Senators from their state; in addition, Baldwin is the first openly gay Senator-elect and Hirono is the first Asian-American woman in the Senate. 

On the House side, incoming Congresswomen include Tammy Duckworth, a Thai-American, born in Bangkok, and a triple amputee from injuries sustained while piloting a helicopter in the Iraq War, and fellow war veteran Tulsi Gabbard, the first American-Samoan and first Hindu in Congress.

We’ve heard the phrase “Year of the Woman” many times before, but we are hoping that, eventually, every year will be the year of the woman.  We can’t wait to see what 2016 holds, right Hillary?

Comments are closed.